top of page

Antsy.

Two words to describe my life at this moment. Happy and Busy. I wanted to add semi in front of the happy but that is not accurate....more like mostly? I think it is time for a change. Growth of some sort. I know what areas of my life need working on and I think it is time to start doing so. I am 100% happy in my career. Librarianship is a perfect fit for me but that is only one layer of my life. I also love food. and nutrition. and fitness (well, fitness and I have a love-hate relationship). I am really interested in meditation and stretching and finding balance within your body and life. I want (and possibly) need to feel more connected with nature and the cycles of the year. I need to feel and better understand the interconnectedness of our lives in the grander scheme of things. So.

That being said, I have decided to embark on a few different ventures. I am not sure what this picture will look like in a year, probably nothing like what I thought it would, but it is always the first step that is the catalyst for growth and change.

I have decided to enroll in a Master Gardener course through the University of Illinois. I was completely unaware of how to become a Master Gardener and just figured that after years and years of learning, someone took a wand (a green one) and tapped you on the thumb. Voila. Wise sage of flowers and vegetables. I was wrong. You actually take courses and put in a ton of volunteer hours with community gardening projects. There is also a Master Naturalist course that provides science-based educational opportunities that connect people with nature and help them become engaged environmental stewards. I figure if this doesn't get me connecting to Mother Earth, nothing will. I am not sure if I want to do both programs or if that is overkill but I am definitely going to pursue at least one of them when they are offered this Fall.

My second venture is still requiring some processing. I have not completely made up my mind. First off, sales of any sort have never been my strong suit. I have failed at every home business I have started. So, when I think of this new pursuit in that frame, I balk. If I think about it in terms of passion, I can see it being an okay fit. I was recently approached about becoming a BeachBody coach. I cannot remember a time in my life when fitness and nutrition have not been a part of my daily existence (well, teen years but that don't count). I don't mean that I have stuck to a healthy regimen and worked out daily all my life, far from that. What I do mean is I am constantly educating myself about various forms of nutrition and diets (not fad) and I have tons of fitness programs that I rotate through. I feel my utmost best when I am eating right and working out. Could this be another motivator in my arsenal or just another cost and headache? Really there is not much to lose if I decide it is not right for me so I am thinking about giving it a shot.

My other two ventures are a bit smaller in scope. I have joined the local Exchange Club to meet some community members and participate in community service AND I am learning Spanish.

What about you? What is making you a bit antsy? Define it and pursue it!


What you will find on ChickenPete

#1 

Writing. I am an English major and a librarian. Enough said.

 

#2

DIYs. I love to create. You will find adult projects and crafts done with my daughter.

 

#3

Cooking. This will be my venue for trying out new recipes and exploring health and nutrition.

 

#4

Fashion. I am not the most adventurous when it comes to clothing but I want to explore this area more in my middle age.

 

#5

Thrifting. Flea markets. Yard Sales. Auctions. Junking. Whatever you call it.
LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

bottom of page