top of page

Recipes I will never make (but like to pretend that someday I will.)

I make a weekly menu plan.....for the most part it consists of the same rotation of meals with perhaps one or two new dishes thrown in. I was going through my recipe books the other day looking for something new to try when I realized that some of the recipes I have collected are over 20 years old and still waiting to be made. Most of them are pretty fancy or time-consuming or call for weird ingredients so I know why I haven't tried them yet but I wonder why I have held on to them for so long. They are just cramping my style and reminding me that I will never ever be one of those cooks who squiggles lines of wasabi on the plate. Here are some of the recipes I purged from my book: About 10 recipes with the word salmon in them. Honey Maple Mustard Salmon, Salmon in parchment, Teriyaki glazed salmon. I don't even like salmon. Nuf said.

Homemade waffles. Because I would need a waffle maker and I don't have one nor do I plan on buying one.

Kale smoothies. I have tried one variation of this and it stunk. Kale may be good for you but it is no fun. So, why I have 14 other recipes calling for kale beats me.

Pavlova. I had this beautiful dessert at one of my bridal showers and it was amazing and sophisticated. I didn't make it though. Someone else did and that is how we should leave it.

Cheesecakes. Because they look like they would be simple to make. In my very limited but disastrous one-time experience, they are not.

Dishes with Barley or Mung Beans or some other ancient grain. Those things take forever to cook.

Homemade almond milk, homemade ricotta cheese, homemade cashew cheese, homemade sausage, homemade mayo. Because sometimes I do not want to see how the things I eat are made.

So there you have it. Are there any dishes that you promise to make someday?

What you will find on ChickenPete

#1 

Writing. I am an English major and a librarian. Enough said.

 

#2

DIYs. I love to create. You will find adult projects and crafts done with my daughter.

 

#3

Cooking. This will be my venue for trying out new recipes and exploring health and nutrition.

 

#4

Fashion. I am not the most adventurous when it comes to clothing but I want to explore this area more in my middle age.

 

#5

Thrifting. Flea markets. Yard Sales. Auctions. Junking. Whatever you call it.
LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

bottom of page